Finalists Announced for Klein in Space Innovation Challenge


Klein ISD is partnering with the Student Spaceflight Experiments Program (SSEP), a model U.S. National STEM Education Initiative, to immerse participants in an authentic research experience. One lucky team will be selected to travel to Cape Canaveral, FL to watch their experiment launch to the International Space Station.

While aboard the ISS, astronauts will conduct experiments using the winning team’s instructions from the technical proposal.

Over 200 student teams conducted research, formed a hypothesis, designed an experiment and created a technical writing proposal in hopes of having their experiment chosen. After a panel of experts reviewed more than 100 proposals, three teams were selected as finalists to be sent to SSEP for final judging.  One winning team from these three Klein ISD finalists will be announced December 14th.

The Three Finalist Teams are:

  • Lambda Omicron | Klein Oak High School | Sponsor, Margaret Mason
    Rishabh Ghosh, Eric Wells, Vinh Nguyen, Joseph Martinez, Joshua Martinez
  • Micro – Ji | Klein High School | Sponsor, Vicki Hermsdorf
    Max Hall-Brown, Michael Ji, Yannie Guo
  • Space Jam | Klein High School | Sponsor, Mona Khaldi
    Brian Chen, Daniel Fan, Forrest Sun, Tara Vathul, Andy Zhou

A special thank you to all the Team Sponsors who gave their time and guidance to our pathway explorers. Without you, Innovation Challenges like these wouldn’t be possible.

We are so proud of all our student teams, and good luck to our final three! For more information about the Klein in Space Innovation Challenge, visit