Last November, over 130 teams of students from 26 elementary schools participated in the Klein in Space Day of Design, where they collaborated with their teammates to pack for a trip to Mars and prepare to start a community. (View details about our Day of Design here.)

The Innovation Challenge winners, Team MAJAH (Schultz Elementary) and Team Spaceship (Lemm Elementary), will present at an upcoming School Board meeting and take a field trip to Space Center Houston.

On Tuesday, the Klein in Space judges and district leadership recognized these pathway explorers with party poppers, balloons, and certificates for their problem-solving skills, innovation, and creativity.

Team MAJAH, comprised of five third-grade students (Ashlyn Brehmer, Mikayla Brehmer, Addisin Fowler, Jackson Heflin, and Henry Perrierfrom), collaborated for almost a month to come up with several creative ideas.

“They [Team MAJAH] each took their own personal space interest and made it come to life,” team sponsor and teacher, Courtney Ivan, said. “Their ability to listen to others’ opinions, strategize together, and varying talents and interests are what made this space crew the true dream team!”

Team MAJAH from Schultz Elementary posing with their certificates and their surprise committee.

Team Spaceship, made up of five Kindergartners (Abby Herpel, Zachariah Blessinger, Mya Jackson, Jaxson Mann, and Presley Kowald) wowed the judges with their deep thinking and conversations about their trip to Mars. 

“They learned so much about Mars and thinking out of the box,” teacher and sponsor, Mary Ann Quintana, observed. “The Day of Design was the same day as our field day, and these dedicated learners decided that they wanted to “do the challenge” instead!”

Team Spaceship, from Lemm Elementary, posing with their certificates and surprise committee.

Congratulations to these two deserving teams and their sponsors for being goal-oriented problem solvers who inspire, encourage and develop others.

Also, a job well done to our second and third place winners who will also receive their certificates this week.

Second Place Winners:

  • Team Martianettes (Alondra Rivas, Genesis Funez, Hailey Ortiz, Christine Dao, and Fatima Perez), Kaiser Elementary
  • Team Ruby Dome Pathway Explorers (Carter Dasilva, Eli Hopp, Diya Karia, and Payton Tran), Haude Elementary

Third Place Winners:

  • Team BACAW (Aileen Romero, Anthony Cruz, Westyn Wethington, Barrett Jones, and Charlotte Sullivan), Kuehnle Elementary
  • The Quad Squad (Daniel Witzke, Kian Gonzalez, Peyton Hughes, and Drake Satterfield), French Elementary

With their innovation and creativity, these students have demonstrated all of the Profile of a Learner characteristics. To find out more about the Profile of a Learner, or our other Guiding Documents, visit