Legislative Roundup: January 24


The 86th Texas Legislature will be in session from January 8 through May 27, and both the House and the Senate have made Public Education Committee assignments.

House Public Education Committee: Dan Huberty (chair), Diego Bernal (vice chair), Alma Allen, Harold Dutton, Ken King, Morgan Meyer, Trent Ashby, Mary Gonzalez, Gary VanDeaver, Steve Allison, Keith Bell, Scott Sandford, and James Talarico. Representatives Hubert, Allen, and Dutton are from Houston and surrounding areas.

Senate Public Education Committee: Larry Taylor (chair), Eddie Lucio (vice chair), Paul Bettencourt, Donna Campbell, Pat Fallon, Bob Hall, Bryan Hughes, Angela Paxton, Beverly Powell, Kirk Watson, and Royce West. Senators Taylor and Bettencourt are from Houston and surrounding areas.

Additionally, Raise Your Hand Texas, an education advocacy group, released the results of the statewide Texas Public Education Perceptions Poll, which surveyed Texans’ perspectives and expectations for the 2019 legislative session. A few highlights include:

  • Texans say education is the most important issue for this year’s legislative session.
  • Texans think the state needs to invest more in public education without funding being tied to a standardized test.
  • Most Texans believe the state covers a much larger share of education funding than it actually does.

To learn more, go to New Raise Your Hand Texas Poll Reveals Texans’ Perceptions About Public Education.