Select Page

3 Klein ISD Students Awarded National Merit Scholarships

3 Klein ISD Students Awarded National Merit Scholarships

Today, the National Merit Scholarship Corporation announced this year’s National Merit $2,500 Scholarship winners and three Klein ISD students were chosen. 

Congratulations to Rodrigo Brandao, Armin Momin, and Jasmine Vonk for being chosen out of the over 15,000 outstanding scholarship Finalists from across the nation. 

Each of these students is judged to have the strongest combination of accomplishments, skills, and potential for success in rigorous college studies. 

Not to mention, all three of these students are graduating in the top 10 percent of their class. Wow! 

“Rodrigo and Armin are such great students,” Klein Oak Principal Thomas Hensley said. “They are scholars of the highest order but what you need to know beyond their academic ability, they are funny, engaging, and driven. And they have given so much to Klein Oak High School in their years. We are proud of these two and we are super excited to see what the future holds for them.”

Jasmine has shown incredible dedication not only to academic excellence, but personal excellence as well. That’s definitely something that Klein High Principal Jessica Haddox applauds her for!

“It comes as no surprise to me that Jasmine is a National Merit Scholarship Winner,” Klein High School Principal Jessica Haddox said. “I am incredibly proud of all the hard work that she has put into her studies at Klein High School. Way to go, Jasmine!”

Did you know? The National Merit Scholarship Competition begins when juniors take the Preliminary SAT/National Merit Scholarship Qualifying Test (PSAT/NMSQT). 

That’s right – this year’s National Merit Scholarship Program Competition began in October 2018 when over 1.5 million juniors in approximately 21,000 high schools took the PSAT/NMSQT, which served as an initial screen of program entrants. 

Last fall, the highest-scoring participants in each state, representing less than one percent of the nation’s high school seniors, were named Semifinalists. 

From the Semifinalist group, some 15,000 students met the very high academic standards and other requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. 

A committee of college admissions officers and high school counselors appraise a substantial amount of information submitted by both the Finalists and their high schools: the academic record, including difficulty level of subjects studied and grades earned; scores from the PSAT/NMSQT; contributions and leadership in school and community activities; an essay written by the Finalist; and a recommendation written by a high school official.

Only then can a student earn the esteemed title of National Merit Scholarship Winner. 

We are so proud of our three National Merit Scholarship winners and we know they will accomplish many great things!

Facebook Comments

Best Public Schools in Texas
Klein ISD has an established 81-year history of excellence and innovation in education with unique pathways for EVERY student in our care to ensure learners are college, career, military, and life ready. With recognition for STEM, athletics, fine arts, and academics from highly-esteemed organizations, it is clear that Our Shared Vision of every student entering with a promise and exiting with a purpose is a reality for EVERY student who walks through our doors.

About Klein ISD
Klein ISD is a school district in Klein, Texas located in northwestern Harris County. The district spans approximately 87.5 square miles and serves more than 54,000 students in 33 elementary schools, 10 intermediate campuses, one high school program of choice, and 5 high schools.

Help Us Share Your Story
There are so many incredible individuals in the Klein Family making a lasting impact on our community. We want to recognize and celebrate our leaders and learners that are cultivating talent, building relationships, reimagining learning and making Promise2Purpose a reality daily. Share your story here:

Our Latest Podcasts


3 Klein ISD Students Awarded National Merit Scholarships

by Megan Parman
Send this to a friend