Please ensure Javascript is enabled for purposes of website accessibility

Select Page

41 Klein ISD students recognized by National Merit Scholarship Corporation

41 Klein ISD students recognized by National Merit Scholarship Corporation

Update: We have just gotten word that all 9 of our Semi-Finalists are moving on to the next round as Finalists in the National Merit Scholarship program. Your Klein ISD Community is cheering you on! Congratulations!

Five students from Klein High and four students from Klein Oak High School have been named National Merit Scholarship semifinalists by the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. Thirty-two other students were named as commended.

Of the 1.6 million entrants, some 50,000 with the highest PSAT/NMSQT® Selection Index scores qualify for recognition in the National Merit® Scholarship Program. In September, these high scorers are notified through their schools that they have qualified as either a Commended Student or Semifinalist, according to the National Merit Scholarship Corporation. 

To be considered for a Merit Scholarship® award, Semifinalists must fulfill several requirements to advance to the Finalist level of the competition. This includes a detailed application outlining the Semifinalist’s academic record, participation in school and community activities, demonstrated leadership abilities, employment, and honors and awards received, as well as an essay, additional test scores, and an endorsement from a school official.

“I know the hard work and dedication that goes into this extremely competitive process,” Klein ISD Superintendent Dr. Jenny McGown said. “I’m so proud of our students for receiving the recognition they deserve by being named National Merit Scholar Semifinalists and for being commended in this elite group of students.” 

Semifinalists have now advanced to apply for the finalist standing, which will be announced in February.

2020-2021 National Merit Semi-Finalists

Klein High School 
Cade Baker 
Callie Baker 
Kennedy James
Chris Jia 
Chloe Johnsen 

Klein Oak High School 
Jayasurya Dileep 
Rishabh Ghosh 
Hubert Jaegy 
Sarah Lalani

2020-2021 National Merit Commended Students

Klein Cain High School
Blake Berryman
Matthew Cadman
Evelyn Chiu
Wyatt Ferguson
Austin Hecker
Brian Hung
Hannah Kim
Joanna Ko
David Loeb
Zuriyah Logan
Ricardo Moctezuma
Abhiram Nunna
Christopher Price
Tony Sanfilippo
Hayden Stiegman

Klein High School
Robie Jones
Andrew Shen
Sneha Shenoy
Joshua Smith
Britni Trinh
Anna Zhou

Klein Oak High School
Aidan S. Colon
Kailee A Craig
Aidan P. James
Auj A. Momin
Emma K. Moore
Aneesh Nannapaneni
Kaylah P. Patel
Grace E. Phillips
Andres P. Rodriguez
Erin E. Walters
Joshua R. Zellar

Congratulations to all of these brilliant students!  We are so proud of your excellent academic success and wish our Semi-Finalists the best of luck as they continue to advance!


Klein ISD is AAA in Academics, Arts, and Athletics.

Best Public Schools in Texas
Klein ISD has an established 84-year history of excellence and innovation in education with unique pathways for EVERY student in our care to ensure learners are college, career, military, and life ready. With recognition for STEM, athletics, fine arts, and academics from highly-esteemed organizations, it is clear that Our Shared Vision of every student entering with a promise and exiting with a purpose is a reality for EVERY student who walks through our doors.

About Klein ISD
Klein ISD is a school district in Klein, Texas, located in northwestern Harris County. The district spans approximately 88 square miles and serves more than 53,000 students in 33 elementary schools, 10 intermediate campuses, one high school program of choice, and 5 high schools.

Help Us Share Your Story
There are so many incredible individuals in the Klein Family making a lasting impact on our community. We want to recognize and celebrate our leaders and learners that are cultivating talent, building relationships, reimagining learning and making Promise2Purpose a reality daily. Share your story here:

Recent Videos


Our Latest Podcasts